1990 Boys Soccer

1990 Soccer Team

Danbury High School Soccer Team

Danbury High Boys Soccer Coach, Gary Donaldson was quoted after the November 17, 1990 Championship win, "This is for Joe Mooney, Jeff Jones, David Cagianello, Ryan Dell, Nathan Taylor…. every kid that's ever played in a Danbury High (soccer) uniform, this is their championship. Period." But it was the 1990 team that brought the LL State Championship to Danbury High School for the first time after five trips to the finals.

The championship game was held at Wolcott High School against Hartford Public. Despite the poor weather conditions, it was a 2-1 victory for the Hatters. Danbury's lone goals were scored by cousins Nelson Lopes and John Rodrigues, the only two players on the team who had played in each of Danbury's three state championship losses over the past four years.

Nelson Lopes had scored the first goal of the game, eleven minutes into the second half. Eight minutes later, Hartford Public tied it. Four minutes later, Danbury player, Matt Salamon was tripped in the penalty area, and John Rodrigues scored the penalty kick for the winning goal with 17:19 remaining. The defense, anchored by Rodrigues and Robb Morgan, along with fellow fullbacks Derek Schade and Don Woodin and goalie Tom Rose, succeeded in shutting down the speedy Hartford Public offense for the remainder of the game.

Other team members included Billy Maupin, Mike Amalfitano, Mike Totten, Sean Gartland and Scott Remond. The championship team also included Stefan Marqardt, Darrell Russel, Jim Rivard, Ben Levitt, Mike Malafronte, Greg Eisen, Brian Jacobsen and Ken Begasse. Coach Donaldson was assisted by Assistant Coach Rusty Ayers.

Five players were named to the All-FCIAC team: Scott Remond, Nelson Lopes, Mike Amalfitano, John Rodrigues and Robb Morgan. The team finished #1 in the state of Connecticut and sixth in the nation in the USA Today standings. It is fitting that on the 25th anniversary of that great season, the 1990 Danbury High Boys' Soccer team is being honored by the DHS Hall of Fame.